BDO Alliance Workshop & Networking Event
June 10, 2019
More Details

MAPCast: IT Considerations in M&A
May 31, 2019
More Details

MAPCast: Remote Workplace Trends and Techs
June 5, 2019
More Details

MAPCast: IT Infrastructure Update with an Optimization Focus
June 20, 2019
More Details

MAPCast: The Accountants Exposure To Litigation In Failure To Detect Fraud
June 27, 2019
More Details

MAPCast: Lean CPA Firm Administration
July 2, 2019
More Details

MAPCast: Transitioning from Compliance to Consulting
July 9, 2019
More Details

Michigan Chapter Meeting: National CPAFMA Conference Highlights
July 11, 2019
More Details

Northeast Chapter Summer Outing: Boston Harbor Cruise
July 26, 2019
More Details

Missouri Chapter: Roundtable Discussion
August 15, 2019
More Details

Michigan Chapter: Technology by John Higgins
September 19, 2019
More Details

Missed a MAPCast?
PODCast archives are available.
Order Now

Awards & Recognition Programs

The CPA Firm Management Association presents several different awards to members for dedication and service to their firms and to the Association.

Applications Accepted: Now – May 1, 2019

This annual award is presented by the CPA Firm Management Association (CPAFMA) and has been awarded to some of North America’s most experienced and respected firm management professionals since its inception in 1989.

The FMAward honors a firm manager holding a senior-level management position for a public accounting firm. Criteria for selection focus on leadership and the individual's strategic impact on the firm's profit and growth. Strong candidates will have made major contributions to their firms by implementing and overseeing programs that:

  • contribute to the firm's long-term growth;
  • help the firm meet its strategic goals;
  • improve firm profitability;
  • help create an employee-friendly culture; and
  • emphasize the value of firm management, operations and leadership

The 2019 FMAward will be presented at CPAFMA’s National Practice Management Conference, June 10-13, 2019 in Las Vegas. Recipients receive a one-year complimentary CPAFMA membership, free attendance at the next year’s CPAFMA National Practice Management Conference, a handsome plaque and promotion for both the individual and the firm.

Nomination Form

View Previous Recipients

Distinguished Service Awards

Distinguished Service Awards are presented to individuals for those who have made an outstanding contribution to CPAFMA and the profession and have served as a resource and example to CPAFMA members. The award is awarded at the discretion of the board of directors and can be awarded to one or more individuals but does not have to be awarded each year.

View Previous Recipients

Applications Accepted: Now – May 1, 2019

The CPAFMA Emerging Leader of the Year Award honors an individual who demonstrates a dedication to the CPA firm management profession through strong leadership, teamwork, and integrity, while continually developing their knowledge and experience, necessary in this ever-changing business. The Emerging Leader must also be a strong advocate of CPAFMA’s mission to lead CPA firm practice management by empowering all CPA firms to thrive by expanding knowledge, sharing experiences, achieving through collaboration, influencing leadership and envisioning possibilities.

Nominees must meet the following criteria for consideration for the CPAFMA Emerging Leader of the Year Award:

  • Currently working for a CPAFMA member firm in good standing.
  • Meets the definition of an emerging leader: an individual with up to five years of leadership experience in a CPA firm management role.
  • Demonstrates strong leadership and teamwork skills and has made a major impact with his/her firm’s success.
  • Demonstrates a strong sense of integrity.
  • Demonstrates interaction with the firm’s partners and staff.
  • Demonstrates a commitment to CPAFMA’s mission.

The 2019 Emerging Leader of the Year Award will be presented at CPAFMA’s National Practice Management Conference, June 10-13, 2019 in Las Vegas. Recipients receive a handsome plaque and promotion for both the individual and the firm in addition to one year of complimentary CPAFMA MAPCasts for the recipient’s firm.

Nomination Form

View Previous Recipients


Previous Award Recipients

Previous recipients of the FMAward (Firm Manager of the Year Award)

Kimberly Fitzgerald, PAFM
Squire, Lemkin + Company, LLP
Rockville, Maryland

Norman D. Saale, PAFM Lutz
Grand Island, Nebraska

Jeanie Price, PAFM
DeLeon & Stang
Gaithersburg, Maryland

Christine Golz, PAFM
Weltman Bernfield, LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois

Ronda Lawson, PAFM
Bregante + Company LLP
San Francisco, California

Sarah Galley, PAFM
Pholman & Talmage CPAs
Dayton, Ohio

Ginny Fedrich, PAFM
HBLA Certified Public Accountants
Irvine, California

Dawn Hanna Bell, PAFM
Ann Arbor, Michigan

David A. Peneycad
Grant Thornton LLP
Toronto, Ontario

Susan Groszkiewicz
Accountable for
Change, LLC
Atlanta, Georgia

John Magee #
The Bonadio Group
Pittsford, New York

Rita Keller, PAFM #
Brady Ware & Schoenfeld
Dayton, Ohio

Annabella Green, PAFM
PKF Texas
Houston, Texas

Arlene Ciroula, PAFM
Timonium, Maryland

Janine Zirrith, PAFM
Wilkin & Guttenplan, P.C.
East Brunswick, New Jersey

Nigel Jacobs, PAFM
Taylor Leibow, LLP
Hamilton, Ontario

Bellann Morales
Travis, Wolff & Co.
Dallas, Texas

Kathy Anthony #
O'Sullivan Creel, LLP
Pensacola, Florida

Elvis Mizzau #
North York, Ontario

Geanne Yohn #
Brown, Schultz, Sheridan & Fritz
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

David Charnock *
Alpern, Rosenthal & Co.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Janet K. Wolff
Kula, Cowan & Barnes, P.C.
Springfield, Illinois

Virginia Lowery
Illinois Agricultural Auditing Association
Bloomington, Illinois

Paul Nadolny #
Malone & Bailey PC
Houston, Texas

William Leach #
Katz, Sapper & Miller
Indianapolis, Indiana

Joe S. Gale #
Warren, Averett, Kimbrough & Marino, P.C.
Birmingham, Alabama

H. Maureen Collins #
Biscotti, Grassi & Co.
Valley Stream, New York

Cindy Bong
Suby, Von Haden & Associates
Madison, Wisconsin

Gerald Ohe #
Eide Helmeke & Co.
Fargo, North Dakota

Donna S. Cunningham
St. Louis, Missouri

Linda A. Pappajohn
SantoraBaffone CPA Group
Newark, Delaware

(*) Deceased
(#) Retired or no longer with the firm

Previous recipients of the Emerging Leader of the Year Award

Kristin Holthus, CPA, CGMA, PAFM
Anton Collins Mitchell LLP
Denver, Colorado

Julie Giacobbe
MWA CPAs + Business Advisors
Plano, Texas

Previous recipients of Distinguished Service Awards:

Marta Pardo
Allen Haight & Monaghan LLP
Irvine, California

Bill Pirolli

DiSanto Priest & Co.
Warwick, Rhode Island

Cecelia Chaney

Retired from Squire Lemkin & Company
Rockville, Maryland

Jim Metzler
Retired from AICPA, Vice President of Small Firm Interests
East Amherst, New York

Jennifer Wilson
ConvergenceCoaching, LLC
Bellevue, Nebraska

Virginia Lowery
Illinois Agricultural Auditing Association
Normal, Illinois

Debbie Sessions
Porter Keadle Moore
Atlanta, Georgia

Don Scholl
D.B. Scholl, Inc.
West Chester, Pennsylvania

Roman Kepczyk
InfoTech Partners North America
Phoenix, Arizona2002
William Leach
Katz, Sapper & Miller
Indianapolis, Indiana

Rita Keller
Brady Ware & Schoenfeld
Dayton, Ohio

Ralph Hendrix
MacDonald Page Shatz Fletcher Co., LLC
South Portland, Maine